IGNORED

15" Track Wheel Suggestions?

SandyI

• 2 weeks later...

I looked all over without much luck. I ended up finding mine on ebay, at least the price was right, they look good and perform well on a road course and autoxing too. I went with the 15x8 with Toyo R888's for road racing and I use 13x10 with Hoosier race slicks for autoxing.

I think he is looking for wheel recommendations, not tires. I am not an expert, but I think the ultra light Panasports are pretty common for racing Zs. You should PM Greg Ira (member name gira) and ask what he recommends, in case he doesn't see this.

-Mike

I run 15x7 Konig Rewinds... they are light... cheap... and I run 225-50-15 Toyo PX4's on them. They are a 0 offset so with that tire size I do not get ant fender scrub,

Seems like the Konigs could be exactly what I'm looking for with that offset for my Z. Thanks for the tip.

I've heard third-hand reports that Rewinds occasionally crack under the stress of track use. Can't confirm that first hand, though.

And probably not an issue at all for street or auto-x use.

I was looking at the Panasports too. There is a gigantic price difference between the Konigs and the Panasports. And while I'd love to save the $$$, are the Panasports that much a higher quality wheel?

...are the Panasports that much a higher quality wheel?
IMO, yes.

As I noted, for typical street use with perhaps an occasional auto-x or two, Konigs should do just fine. But for dedicated track use, I'd look for a more track-oriented wheel.

Panasports or Enkie's. I use both and the Panasport is a little lighter. You can find them on ebay or some of the racing sites at a reasonable price. IIRC, I bought 4 15" panasports, used, from another racer for $400