IGNORED

Auto>Manual Conversion - what to replace?

Alfadog

Hey guys,

OK so the auto to manual conversion is looming (I am planning 1st or 2nd weekend of January) and in preparation I'd like to gather up all the bits that I know I should buy/replace. So far I would consider:

- Clutch

- Spigot bearing (from Nissan?)

- Flywheel (get it resurfaced somewhere probably the best bet?)

- Clutch alignment tool (need to buy to put the clutch in properly, yes? Available from any Repco/Supercheap type store)

Does anyone know where I should/could buy these parts from? I'd prefer good quality stuff - a meatier clutch if not too much more expensive too. I heard there was a good and cheap clutch man in Brisbane? Should I get anything else other than those 4 things? How about some device to drop the gearbox onto once it's unbolted?

Sorry if these questions are really simple - I've never done something like this before and I don't know anyone who has so you guys are all I've got. Like the collective father I never had LOL

If you're using a 'B' type 5 speed, you can use the clutch parts from a 2+2 or a ZXT. It's a little bigger than the standard Z clutch. 243mm vs. 225mm. Don't forget about the hydraulic stuff, master cylinder, slave cylinder, lines, etc. and the pedal assembly and hardware that goes with it.