IGNORED

Glass head light covers?

cremmenga

First they are made of plexi glass . They come in clear and smoked . They are not legal in every state . The ones you see with the chrome rim are no longer available . There has been reports that the lenses can distort the beam and effect efficency . I have no experience either way a do not have any , just passing on what I have read about them .

Gary-I would think you are right, but my answer was for fused silicate glass-you know I know about Plexi/Acrylic/Polycarbonate, etc!

If clear plastic is what you are after, MSA/VB and many others sell them.

The ones Gary(Beandip) is talking about are discussed here:

http://www.classiczcars.com/forums/showthread.php?t=14343&highlight=jdm+headlight+covers

Will

the factory nissan headlight covers are made of glass my friend has a set at the house but never put them on, i can ask them how they fit. they are to valuable to put on and drive around since they are no longer available or atleast hard to find. i say the lexan covers are fine unless your a datsun purist, good luck looking finding a set

mikey

I don't believe the Factory Nissan headlight covers are made of glass!

I have a set, new old stock in the box and they are plastic!

http://www.classiczcars.com/photopost/showphoto.php?photo=12159&sort=1&cat=500&page=1

If you would like pictures of the box with the part numbers, I can accomodate you!

Carl,

I thought they sold the aftermarket covers as well-no catalog handy!

Will

the factory nissan headlight covers are made of glass my friend has a set at the house but never put them on.........the lexan covers are fine unless your a datsun purist....

Your first sentence is a perfect example of how an urban legend gets started. The "My friend has a set" line won't work here.

There are several of us on this site that own and have installed the OEM Datsun 240Z Headlight Covers with the Stainless Steel Trim Rings.