IGNORED

electronic ignition

bobbovine

Ok, I looked in the tech articles section and see the 240-to-280zx distributor schmatic, but is this the best way to go about it. What I mean is, is using a 280zx dizzy the best way to go (I'm sure the posted instructions are fine). Would I be better off going with a Mallory Unilite or something similar, is something like that overkill for a daily driver?

By the way I am running a L28 in the 260z that the PO put in.

Thanks

• 4 months later...

I have been running the ZX ignition for 3 yrs . I have no reason to change to any thing else. It performs with out a problem to red line . I have a daily driver and have never been sorry I made the change. I am just now installing a 280ZX engine and again the same ignition. There may be hotter systimes that will work better at 9K but I am never in need of this sort of performance. If going with the ZX ignition be sure to also get the mount that attaches the dist to the engine, that short extension that the dist attaches to. The 240 part is different. Also use the module marked 12 80 the '81--'83 have a different module , the dist will work but the module requires the computer and without it , it goes to retard at RPM. Also get the coil and bracket. The 240 coil is smaller in diameter so the mount is too small. :)

I would like to convert my 260z to electronic ignition to due away with the points, question is how?

If you just want to do away with the points you might consider using a Pertronix Ignitor. Search the forums here for "Pertronix" for plenty of information including detailed installation instructions with pictures.