IGNORED

Brand New 260z Owner Looking for Fuel Pump Relay Help :c

zee.rowe

Hello, everyone. I just acquired a 1974 260z in December 2021 (I believe later 74 because of the bumpers???). I finally got a dream Z!! It's rough around the edges, but I've been chipping away at the thing to get it to a daily ish car.

Problem is, I hit a hard wall to overcome. I have pretty much no electrical experience with cars. I've done the small "wire the horn into the aftermarket race wheel" job, and a cruise control wiring chase with an e46. Pretty light work. Well, I jumped head first into what I consider intense wiring: Adapting newer relays to the fuel pump system. I only have one of the two original relays, and the previous owner says the one I have is also fried. Might as well replace them with more modernized ones, right? It seems to be a popular adaptation, but I've found nothing on this modification.

When I say I'm completely new to electrical, I'm very new. This took me days to come up with a circuit because I didn't know about relays and figuring out what each wire means, and reverse engineering the one old relay I have to figure out which wire was going to be the power, trigger source, coil contacts, and even what NC and NO means... So I guess let's jump into my drawings here and uh, please help me out (SteveJ, I saw you help someone else with a similar problem with the same relays, I hope you're still around LOL).