IGNORED

Introduction and a few questions

240 Tom

Hi,

New guy here from Jersey with a 71 240 I bought a few months ago, I'm the second owner. I have a few questions that I hope someone can help with. I’m far from a mechanic and haven’t wrenched on anything in years but I can still tell the difference between a hammer and screwdriver. I owned three 240’s and a 260 back in high school between 1977-79. I rebuilt one of the engines back then (new rings and bearings) and it even ran after I was done. I also vividly recall almost having my head taken off when changing the rear struts when a compressed spring shot out of the crank-type spring compressor.

About the car...I bought it from CA and it has 146,000 miles running the original matching numbers block, E31 head, original carbs and air pump. Car has A/C that is not blowing cold although the compressor does kick on (maybe only needs a charge?). Body is in OK condition with some minimal rust starting to bubble in the usual places on the front fenders and a bit around the forward edge of the rear wheel wells, frame looks really solid. There was an old re-spray on the hood/front fenders and hatch that is now starting to crack and flake. Car has the common American Racing slotted rims with new Yokohama 195/70R-14. Inside is very decent with everything working except the clock but unfortunately has an aftermarket radio. In going through the car the only neat finds were the original shoulder belts still in original plastic and the original unused spare. The original owner bought it for his 50th birthday and drove all the miles himself, parking it in his garage about 10 years ago. After the old-timer started losing it his wife sold the car to a local dealer (he never registered it so I’m technically second owner) who in turn brought it to his mechanic who did enough to get it running and saleable for a quick flip. Work included new:

Radiator, radiator hoses, cap, and thermostat

Rear brakes including lining and cylinders