IGNORED

New Poster, Looking at buying a Z.

caltanian

Hello all.

I'm currently in the process of hunting down a pre smog 240/260z for a project/fun car.

I'm studying auto tech, and have acces to a fully equipped shop, as well as a machine and tranny shop. Makes this whole thing a lot easier for me. I currently have a new, and reliable vehicle, so this won't be the only one in my life. The Z will fulfill my wish to have a fun project vehicle.

There are two out in my area that have sparked my interest.

One is a white 71 240, PO has put a 280 hood, and 280 wheels on it, states only one rust area on a rocker pannel. Looks to be in good shape, just needs some interior parts and work. Also has a L28 motor, and a 5 speed in it already. I'll be buying another engine and tranny as well, so this is nice, but not a deal sealer.

The other one i have to go look at states no rust, New paint, new weather stripping, the likes on a 260z. Says it has eibach lowering springs and struts, needs a little timing and carb tuning, as well as a few interior pieces.

I'm looking at them both this weekend.

I know to pull up carpets if there are any, and look for rust, battery tray as well is a spot to inspect.

Any other things that I need to be looking for?

Thanks all, and looking forward to becoming part of this community.

Stick your hand inside the front fender and feel the sheet metal at the top of the rocker. Crap gets stuck in here and trapped with water draining from the cowl and I will bet you find rust. Once it starts it spreads like wild fire down the rocker. Ask me how I know on my super low mileage, "no rust" 73. 9 times out of 10 no rust on these cars means no rust holes larger than a dime which you can see. So mine is now on the rotisserie for the full meal deal along with body cavity sealant.

I will check there for sure. Body condition is much more important to me than mechanical issues. I can do all that stuff easily, body not as much.