IGNORED

Brand new to Z's need a little guidance

dj's240

Hi,

My name is Don and about 4 hours ago I agreed to purchase a 71 240z. The car turns over fine and is a solid Az car. I can't say it's complete because I have no idea,yet. The gentleman who owns it (past tense) decided to pull the dash and console out to install new one. I am having him put it back together and should pick it up Tuesday evening.

I need to find a fender tag or build plate or something with the vin # so I can do some research on the car. I have some experience with resto's just never a Z. I am curious about the 5 spd, whether or not it's original also.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. I will post up some pic's when I get her home, although it has had a repaint and needs a passenger taillight and wiper arm, it's pretty sweet lookin' imho.

The ID tags are located on the "B" post of the drivers door (left) and on the (right) shock tower in the engine compartment and there is a Vin tag on the left side of the dash visible through the windshield. The Vin can also be found etched into the firewall by the brake booster. The tags will give you the build date, VIN, and Engine number. The engine number is also on the left side of the engine block just below the head. The original color will be indicated on the radiator support it is a 3 digit number on a small sticker. You will find that there is a wealth of collective information on this site specific to your project. Good luck and keep us posted. We like photos!

Don -

Get ready for a great ride. Back in '71 the Z's only transmission was a 4 speed. A popular mod is upgrading the transmission to a 5 speed. If you are looking to putting her back to stock I would be interested in taking the 5 speed off your hands and shipping you my 4 speed (we would need to discuss that live if you have an interest in a swap).