IGNORED

New to Z cars

TorqueAutoMotiv

Hey my name is dan

I am a mechanic by trade but have never cracked the hood on one of these

I believe its a 76 280z

Its been in storage for 5+ years The guy who brought it to me wants fluids changed /plugs cap and wires swapped/ And a new ecu "blackBox" spliced in guess the old one was shot

Few questions

does the gas tank have a drain?

is there anything i should look out for as far as routine stuff?

what is the sparkplug gap on these

heres a pic maybe some one can fill me in on the model

ect...

IMG_0300.jpg

IMG_0299.jpg

It appears to be a 1977 or 78 280z.

The gas tank should have a drain plug on the bottom center.

The engines are pretty much bulletproof as long as they stay properly oiled. Check the fluids, clean the fuel system (check the injectors). Make sure all electrical connections are clean and tight, especially to the ECU in the driver's side kick panel. Also check the brake and clutch masters, they have a tendency to gum up in storage.

Good luck!

That is a late 70's Datsun 280Z. The year will be listed on the tag in the engine compartment visible in your second picture. You can download the appropriate factory service manual here:

http://www.xenons30.com/reference.html

I agree with you, Walt, that would be a '75-'78 for sure. The only caveat I

might add to your assessment is that if it were a build date late in the year,

it could be titled for the succeeding model year. For example, our 280ZX is

VIN# HS130-125717 built in 12/78, but is titled as a 1979 model. FWIW......

All Z Best,...............................Kathy & Rick