IGNORED

Has anyone replaced/rebuilt their Master Vac?

Looks like I have a leaking master vac. Have lost all power boost to the brakes (brakes themselves are OK.) I hear a noticable hiss upon depressing brake pedal (and for some reason, engine RPM increases). When I disconnected the vaccuum hose from manifold to the master vac, the sound disappeared.

There's not much info in the Chilton manual I have about the master vac.

Is is worthwhile rebuilding it? Are bebuilt ones available. How difficult is it to remove? I can see a real problem working in the tight space under the steering wheel. I'm wondering if it's best to hire this out.

Any comments appreciated.

Jon

thebigboy@earthlink.net

Originally posted by Jon, the BIG boy:

There's not much info in the Chilton manual I have about the master vac.

Is is worthwhile rebuilding it? Are bebuilt ones available. How difficult is it to remove? I can see a real problem working in the tight space under the steering wheel. I'm wondering if it's best to hire this out.

Jon, I was in the same boat quite awhile ago. But, I made the decision to purchase a rebuilt master-vac from Motorsport Auto. They did a decent job (although they sent me the wrong push rod).

I ended up repainting it. But, the unit itself worked great.

The master vac isn't a very easy task to rebuild. It includes a fairly large spring under stress. If you aren't careful, you could release the spring and damage anything in its path. smile.gif

I decided against it because I didn't have the tools or the nerve to take it apart.

If I did it wrong... I might be w/out brakes someday. Is that something you really want to chance? I didn't.

Anyway, if you have the tools/patience/strength to take it apart and replace all of the components.. so be it. Otherwise, leave it modular and get a new/rebuilt one.

[m]

------------------

Mike Gholson