IGNORED

w46 carb questions

clutchdust

i'm sure this has been beat to death but i'm new to the z forum. i'm working on a friends '72 240 and rebuilding the carbs. they are the hitatchi w46's. the question i have is about the needle and seat for the float bowl. the carbs had two different types. one was kind of short with a needle and a spring loaded insert. the other was longer but the needle had a solid pin which the float pushed up on. the carb kits i got from checker have two different part numbers but exactly the same parts in them(?). can i use the same needle and seat in both float bowls? why is one different from the other? is this a factory deal or sign these carbs have been screwed with before? without you guys writing endless paragraphs repeating stuff you've already said, point me to some archive articles or threads or links that might break this down for me. also, i need a link on how to balance these things. any other pointers for a first-timer working on these things?

needle/seat than the other. Can't recall if it were the front or rear carb, but that is why 2 different part numbers - one for the front carb, one for the rear.

Aside from needle/seats diferances - the rest is same/same.

The floats you buy seperately.

Get the ZTherapy SU carb video, shows a ton about these carbs.

so what do i do about both kits not having the needle and seat for this one? is there a third kit floating out there somewhere? everything is done on the rebuilds on both carbs except this one float bowl. just want to get this thing done so i can get it out of my driveway!

"the question i have is about the needle and seat for the float bowl. the carbs had two different types. one was kind of short with a needle and a spring loaded insert. the other was longer but the needle had a solid pin which the float pushed up on. "

The pen/ink notes I wrote to self at the time when I tore into my carbs; "the rear carb had the longer needle/seat, the front carb had the shorter one".