IGNORED

Help!!!

kcoke

So I recently redid all the mechanics on my 1971 240z and everytime I go an start it (which is approx every week) It takes awhile to turn over! Everything is brand new on it!? Its like it take a while for the fuel to get to the carbs after its been sitting for a few days. After of turning for awhile it finnally starts. It runs great when its running! just takes awhile to get it going......Whats the problem i want it to start on the first turn!!!

Please help!

Keith

Its like it take a while for the fuel to get to the carbs after its been sitting for a few days.
Yup, you pegged it. That's exactly what's happening. If you need it to start quicker, you'll need to add an electric fuel pump.

I'm no expert on the 240's, so I'll let someone else help out in more detail...

.. but if I recall, there's a choke lever that's supposed to help more gas make it into the combustions chambers when the engine is cold. Are you using this correctly, is it hooked up properly?

When you replaced the mechanicals, did that include the fuel pump? Is that working properly?

'might be good places to start looking...

Good luck :)

Yes I replace the fuel pump! (Its OEM type pump). Yes I am running the SU carbs and they have the choke cables connected properly. Even with the choke it takes a while for it to turn over! Would an electric fuel pump solve my problems? Will it turn on the first key?

AHHHH

Keith

If you suspect the fuel, why not check the level in the float bowls prior to cranking the engine?

They should be full from the last time it ran.

If they are empty then the fuel is draining away somewhere.

That would introduce a time delay until the carbs. re-filled.

[An electric pump would still need time to do what the mechanical pump is doing now, you just won't be cranking the engine]

At the same time you could disconnect the fuel pump outlet hose and check that the pump spews out fuel when you crank it.

Needless to say,