IGNORED

Question on replacing shocks

ddezso

I am preparing to replace the worn shocks on my 70Z. I've never done this before and am quite a novice so I've enlisted my Dad to come help.

We are both looking at all of the available manuals and they make it quite clear that the entire wheel hub needs to come off to change the shocks. Are we missing something? Is it possible to replace the shocks without removing the entire wheel hub? Can you pull them out the top without removing the entire deal?

Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks.

Derek

I have a 77 280 but things should be pretty close as far as replacement of strut inserts. I did remove the entire assembly when replacing mine and it wasn't too bad being a novice.Hit all the bolts with a rust penatrant and let it soak in first. You may also see what else you may want to replace before you start and wait for those parts and do it all at once. You can do a search on thrush bearings and insulators on the 240 to give you an idea of what should need replacing. Fighting "while I'm at it " will be the toughest part.

First and most importantly, do you have a spring compressor? If not, then changing the shocks will be quite dangerous if you have never done this before. The springs will be underload and if you remove the nut holding it in place without comressing te springs, the spring/spring perch will launch.

Saying that, you can replace the shocks without removing the entire strut assembly. First, remove the two bolts connecting the t/c rod to the control arm. You will also need to disconnect the steering knuckle from the outter tie rods. You will need to do this so that the control arm has its full range of motion. At this point you are quite close to being able to completely remove the strut assembly altogether. Simply remove two more bolts in the ball joint and the strut assembly is free.