IGNORED

need help with tranny swap

m240

I have a 73 240 w/auto tranny and I want to put an engine and manual tranny into it from a 71 240. Will the clutch slave and master cylinders just bolt in or is there some cutting and drilling to be done? I've never done anything like this before but I've been waiting a month for someone to do it. Also will the shifter mount cleanly in the same spot as the auto and which drive shaft to use? Any help is really appreciated! Thanks!

I'll have to compare my car to my friends '72 240 auto parts car. I've got a busy weekend planned so it may not be until next week but I am sure I will be able to answer most all the questions. Of course if someone else beats me to it, all the better!

Have a good one!

there is a spot that should already be there you just have to cut it out for the clutch master cylinder. you will also need your 4 or 5 speed, your steeling line, sensors and speedo cable, clutch flywheel and so on, and pedal set for the clutch. do know but i would be sure the mounts are different. that about all i can think of now its early LOL

I forgot to mention that the 71 engine and tranny are in a complete parts car, so i "should?" have everything that i need. what i need to know is there anything special that needs to be done to fit the clutch stuff in the 73 and if the wiring is going to be the same. i am mechanicaly inclined but i am not a mechanic and i don't want to get in over my head. Thanks again!!

• 3 weeks later...