IGNORED

Measurements for stock SU jet needles?

Stanley

After a couple hours on google search, I'm guessing there's no such thing as official measurements for the stations on the stock needles (N-27's, etc.). British SU's sure, but not Hitachi's. Maybe it's a secret. The same question was asked here in 2008 and no good answer.

So has anyone (with a good eye, steady hand, and a good micrometer) measured and charted the stock needles? I've got some stock N-27's, modded N-27's, and some well-worn N-58's (I think), and well as the current SM's (data on those since they're British) and need to do some more polishing, but as I'm a novice at this, I would like to know where they started at, in case I want to buy or make some different ones.

I spent (wasted) a couple more hours today measuring and tabulating (top to bottom, and bottom to top, as a check) stations on the stock and modified N-27's, but my ten dollar Harbor Freight digital micrometer and maybe my measuring technique wasn't up to it. Won't post the results in case someone think it's correct. Typically off by about 2/100th's of an inch, maybe more. Had to zero it after almost every measurement. Looks like the measurements need to be within about 1/100th to correlate with the printed specs (for  British SU's) and document any modifications. According to the SU book, 5 seconds of finger pressure on the needle (in a drill press) with 200 grit takes off about .01", and the two needles should match within .01" at any station, so ...

Other option is to wing it, grind away and not worry about mistakes.

Edited by Stanley
  • Like 1

There's no way a digital HF caliper is going to cut it. The resolution is only a half thousandth, and the accuracy (and that's advertised accuracy) is one thousandth. It's good enough to toss in your tool bag to take to the junkyard and tell the difference between a .68 wide rotor and a .72 wide rotor. Not nearly good enough to take measurements off the needle stations however.