IGNORED

would like to buy a Z car

B_A_BARACUS

I am new to the Z world and I would like to get some advice reguarding buying a Z car. First of all, there are 3 cars for sale that I am looking at.

1) 1972 DATSUN 240z excellent condition, new paint, floorboards, tires, brakes, rollbar, additional new performance parts available, car runs great $6000CDN

2) 73 DATSUN 240Z, brand new 280 eng, flat top pistons, 5 spd, perf body, all met red, eng bay painted, AirCared, drive it & say wow $8000CDN

3)74 DATSUN 260Z, 97,000 orig mi, AirCared, no rust, frame & flr, solid, rcnt exh, brks, CD sound, tires, orig 6 cyl dual carbs, 4 spd, body stripped & repainted red $6500 cdn

I am wondering which one sounds like the best deal. its all in canadian dollars and they are western cars, british columbia, so there is minimal rust.

I am wondering what the difference, if any, between a 72 and 73 240z is? I am mostly interested in the 73 because of the engine work and the 5 speed, but I need help in what to look for.

are there any tricks in trying to figure out if a Z car is a lemon? any help would be great.

Hello B_A,

Interesting set of options. I would say that any 30 year old lemon has already been squeezed and I don't agree with your British Columbia / minimal rust statement at all. The car with new floors and the other car with "all met red (redone?) are rust statement cars. All that work has been performed because of rust. They all seem pretty expensive, too.