IGNORED

heater box door covering-78 280Z

One Way

I have fabricated a new door in the heater box and repaired the original shaft with some weld and lots of grinding.  It is all working pretty smoothly and want to cover the door with something similar to the foam/vinyl that was originally on the rusted away door.  My great wife bought some padded vinyl from Joann Fabrics but not sure if that would be the best option.  Any suggestions will be appreciated and also what adhesive works the best?  Lots of different spray adhesives out there for headliners but I have never used any before.  Thanks again, John-Lugoff, SC.

Thanks for the quick response.  My great wife brought home some remnant pieces from Joann Fabrics yesterday.  The backing is more like a felt material rather than the original foam.  I may play with it a bit before heading off to work.  Also I will have to pick up some headliner spray adhesive.  This is one of those projects you want to do just one time.  I am very pleased with the door fabrication and the forming of the round channel for the shaft to go through.  It came out very nice considering the person who heated and hammered it into shape.  Thanks again, John-Lugoff, SC.

I recommend that you not use Permatex spray adhesive (a common offering in auto parts stores).  Use, instead, 3M #08088.  I have found that the Permatex product 'gives up' with time.  I've had much better results with the 3M product.  Also: You will find that some contact cements aren't compatible with foam.  Because the heater box is something you will hope to never need to remove from the car again in the future, you do not want to discover months down the road that your new flap door padding has started to peel off.