IGNORED

should i do this engine swap?

xkeithx

i have a stock 78 280z with the n42 engine i believe it is? its just the stock 2.8L engine for that year. it makes a slight valve knocking noise when its running, its not anything bad i dont think, its very slight. but anyways.. i recently acquired a parts car which has a f54 block and a p90 head. i am told this is a turbo engine from an early 80s 280zx? there are no injectors in the engine, but otherwise its a pretty complete engine. there also is no distributor. would it be worth my while to swap my current engine for this one, and would i be able to use my current ecu, injectors, and distributor? i am told that the "turbo" engine i have is in really good shape. it also looks a lot cleaner than the engine i have. i just dont want to rip apart the (running) engine i have now, and do tons of work that i am not that experienced with, if it won't make a big difference. what should i do??

Actually you are just as well off with what you have.

The bore and stroke are the same between the two engines. The only way to improve the F-54 engine would be to put a turbo on it to make it worth the effort. You probably have a slightly (very slight) higher compression in the engine you are running now.

The only real advantage the F-54 block has is that is a somewhat stronger block since it has the siamesed cylinders.

The engines are so close to being the same as they are, there really isn't much reason to change unless the engine you have now is going bad.