IGNORED

Injectors not firing; ECU problem?

Lani Kai

My injectors are not firing, so I've done some tests...

TL;DR: Has my ECU gone bad?

Tested at the ECU harness, and each injector connection reads the proper voltage when grounded.

Tested at the individual injector connectors, and read the proper voltage as well.

Manually fired the injectors by grounding each corresponding terminal on the ECU connector. Turned ignition to "ON" and heard each injector click.

Checked the ground circuits on the ECU harness, and all were fine.

Basically, wiring from ECU to injectors tested OK, and wiring from ECU to ground tested OK. I've read that ECU failures are pretty unlikely, but all evidence seems to suggest that it may be at fault. Are there any flaws in my logic, and is there anything else I should test before buying a new unit?

At least you have done some testing. I am not an expert by any means so I am just throwing out ideas. How about power to the ECU with the ignition on?

Never mind reread youre post, You have already done that. I would not rule out something else just yet though. Do you have the means of borrowing a spare ECU from a friend?

post-17660-14150819251288_thumb.png

Edited by grantf

Are you getting spark? The ECU uses the voltage from the negative post of the coil to determine when to fire the injectors.

Also, and apparently this isn't the same for everyone, the ECU on two cars I've worked on, a 76 and a 78, needed to have the tachometer connected to fire the injectors. Not exactly sure why, although I have a theory, but I have confirmed it.

Anecdotally, the resistor in the circuit to the tachometer fell out of my 76 and the engine wouldn't start until I found it and re-installed it.

Do you have the means of borrowing a spare ECU from a friend?

[ATTACH=CONFIG]54152[/ATTACH]

I'm looking around, but haven't found one yet. Anyone in Orange County, CA that can help me out?