IGNORED

MSD Blaster 2 installed onto '72 240z. Idling become unstable.

tamo3

Hi, I just got '72 240z with rounded SU carb.

Since cold start takes time, I also got new MSD Blaster 2 coil 8203.

After installed this coil, idling get unstable. I'm new to 240z and still studying SU carb setting.

Before, the factory original coil, it takes time to start up engine, but idling was stable.

Do I need to upgrade distributor also? or can I just adjust SU carb setting to make idling stable?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Did you get the MSD ballast resistor that comes with it and install it also? Looks like the MSD resistor is 0.8 ohms, the stock one looks to be 1.1 to 1.5 ohms. You might have too much resistance on the primary side.

Instructions are here -

http://www.msdignition.com/Products/Coils/Stock_Replacement/8203_-_Blaster_2_Coil_w/Ballast___Hardware.aspx

The new coil should not have hurt the stability of your idle and you should not need a different distributor. We need more information to diagnose the problem.

1. Condition of plugs, wires, cap, rottor, distributor

2. Is your car stock or has anything been added or deleted?

3. Have you done anything to check the tune on the carbs? Float levels, vacuum leaks etc.

4. Other than being hard to start when cold was the car runnning well through the rev band before the addition of the coil?

5. Did you change anything else when you swapped the coils? Could the plug wires have gotten switched?

With a little more information the folks on this forum should be able to help.

Good luck.

I just assumed the simplest installation, a straight coil swap, and noticed the resistance when I browsed the instructions.

Odds are good though, as you noted, that "a few more things while I'm changing the coil" were done. Who can resist...

Wow! Thanks for the quick reply Zed Head, steve91tt!!