IGNORED

Turbo swap

Ok I own a 74 260z bone stock but the dual webbers. The car has been burning oil blowing gaskets here and there and is just plain worn out. So I decided to pull the motor and do a complete rebuild. But I was thinking about doing a turbo on it. I have rebuilt motors in the past even 3 280s. But I have not much knowledge on turbos to be honest. My question is what would i have to do to make my non turbo motor a turbo motor but still hold up for reliability. I know how to rebuild to stock. But i'm not really good with the performance part to make it better. Basically I want I want is to find a way to get a 13 second street car wether it being turboed or not. Reason is my older brother thinks ford rules the world and his little 13.6 second cobra is the fastest thing in the world LOL. And I wanna show him different being we go to mokan every weekend and he always beats me and never stops rubbing it in my face. And I have put new suspension everything on my car and interior to. But i'm really lacking in the motor area sorry about babling on any help would be appreciated.

Never having taken on such an endeavor in the past, I don't know the details. However, one of the most important questions is "What is your budget?" That will dictate many of the details.

You'll probably need to drop the compression. This could come from using dished pistons and a thicker (metal) headgasket.

Other suggestions include (but are not limited to)

Turbo oil pump (from the Turbo 280ZX)

Electronic ignition

Megasquirt or other aftermarket fuel injection

Intake manifold with ports for injectors

75 280Z gas tank or surge tank

Higher pressure fuel pump

Blocking plate for the removal of the mechanical fuel pump

Turbo exhaust manifold

R200 differential