IGNORED

Brake Warning Light Won't Turn On - Stumped

ktm

Now, I consider myself to be fairly mechanically an electrically inclined. I am not an expert nor a veritable Z'sondabrain, but I have done some extensive electrical work on my car.

Saying that, I can not, for the life of me, get my brake warning light to turn on. Yes, the switch is fine. The bulb is not burned out. The wiring diagrams are a JOKE. I have a 1972 240z.

The FSM shows a Y/G from the hand brake switch going to the lamp. Check. It shows a Y/L coming from the brake block. Mine is Y/G. The Chassis Supplemental section shows the light connection as G/Y and Y/G. Check. The wiring diagram shows jack for this connection.

How does the light get power? The light works by switching ground. Where is the power coming from? Does anyone know the circuit and could give me some insight?

It worked before I did the extensive modifications to my dash lighting system, swapping out gauges, etc. I know I did something and I know I can fix it, but without a correct wiring diagram I am blind.

Thanks.

I am using the Haynes Manual, circuit diagram for USA model S30, on pages 168 and 169.

The BRAKE IN, which I think is the fluid level or pressure fail lead is YL, connects to the HANDBRAKE SW lead, also YL, and t's off to the speedometer binacle as a YL lead.

This is the earthy side of the warning lamp circuit.

The warning lamp is in the speedo binacle.

The supply side of the warning lamp is an RL lead.

This lead also supplies the +ve to the tachometer and mysteriously becomes a G lead.

This G lead ultimately gets back to the fuse block, specifically the 20A IG fuse.

So, that is the power source:devious:

Actual wire colours may differ but that is how it works:surprised

My guess is that you may have put a hole in the supply lead somehow when you fitted your new tachometer:nervous::nervous: