IGNORED

exhaust manifold to exhaust pipe connection

tttz

Hi all,

I have recently installed a 79 280zx motor into my 71 240z. I tried to bolt the exhaust pipe back up and realized that the 71 exhaust pipe flange is smaller than teh 79 exhaust manifold flange.

What are my options to connect the two pieces? I've searched and all i've found is that the exhaust shop can fix it. How would a shop fix this? seems like they would need the exhaust pipe from a 280zx in order to fix it.

Could i get an exhaust pipe from a junkyard and swap it over my 240?

Considering i'm out of budget and in no rush to finish, what do you z guru's recommend?

Thanks,

Ty

I believe you've answered your own question! Get the correct exhaust connector, remove the old one, weld in the new one, and drive! Or use the old exhaust manifold to replace the 79 unit....but who wants to go smaller?

Thanks 240ZX,

Since i'm new to working on cars, i like to check my ideas with seasoned veterans.

the only hang up with welding a new piece on is that i don't have the equipment to weld. I'm sure i can fabricate some sort of connection. Are the diameters of the 79 exhaust pipe and my stock 71 exhaust pipe the same?

thanks,

Ty

Thanks 240ZX,

Since i'm new to working on cars, i like to check my ideas with seasoned veterans.

the only hang up with welding a new piece on is that i don't have the equipment to weld. I'm sure i can fabricate some sort of connection. Are the diameters of the 79 exhaust pipe and my stock 71 exhaust pipe the same?

thanks,

Ty

Didn't you already say they are different? My advise to you is to take it to a muffler shop, along with the new connector for the 79 manifold and let them install it.

Thanks again.