IGNORED

so what's so special about the Z car?

clutchdust

like i have said in the previous post, i'm new to the Z thing. since i've been on this forum, i've noticed quite a few of you that are very dedicated to this car. i can admire that. my first (car) love is the corvette. they're great cars. unfortunately, they're too heavy and expensive to go out and just enjoy a track day. so mine will get restored and the Z will become my track car. from what i've seen so far, it looks like a platform with alot of potential.

already, though, i can feel the same type of division with the rest of the Z owners, just like the corvette community. there seems to be two or three sub-groups in each group of car enthusiasts. one says restore it, anything else is destroying it. another says, race it, that's what they were meant for. and yet another group says, modify it and drive it. just don't junk it.

so what's the big deal with the Z? i can tell it has a much more international appeal than my corvettes do. been imported all around the world so they have a world wide reputation. but yet, they're still somewhat of a novelty even so.

give me a little history of the Z and what it means to you.

They didn't use to be a "novelty" in the US, anyway. When they first were imported the early 70's they were an instant hit with the public. Demand outstripped supply for several years (70-72). Car Dealers could (and did) demand premiums over the factory prices. Additional equipment such as aluminum wheels, stripe kits, side mouldings, aftermarket A/C, etc were routinely added to the cars to further "pad" the retail prices.