IGNORED

Tachometer

Robin260z

Hi guys my tacho isn't working either.

I;ve read a lot of posts trying to figure out what the problem is.

I;ve already read that i have a 4 wire tacho that isn;t original because a 260z normally has a 3 wire.

But all the wiring is original so thats also weird.

tha tacho gets good ground and 12 volt.

The ignition signal is ok because when i disconnect the connector the car wont start because it is a circuit that has to be closed.

So could someone give me the right electrical scheme for a 4 wire tacho or tell me how i can repair/ rebuild my tacho.

Sometimes it starts to work for a few minutes but it can also dont work for a few weeks.

Could it also be the resistor? where can i find this in a 75 260z 2+2 ?

thx guys

I have been battling the tach question for the past several months - I have bought a couple tachs off ebay with no luck with none working correctly. Last year I completed an engine rebuild and upgrade to electronic ingition and fried my perfectly good tach. So after several bad ebay purchases I made up my mind to have my tach rebuilt here:

http://www.gaugeguys.com/repair.htm

I just got my tach back last week and yesterday re-wired per the new set up and instructions from the rebuild shop - three connections:

1 - 12volt

1 - ground

1- negative side of coil

I left the original set up all connected and ran alligator clips for the set up above - direct battery connections and direct coil connection -

No start -(I then plugged into the 4 pin connector one that I had that has in incorrect RPM reading and the car fired right up so I know the rebuilt tach is the problem) so I called the fine folks up at APT Instruments and an shipping the $215.00 tach back to them so they can address - somebody needs to figure out a rebuild for our tachs so we can plug and play and have a normal correct reading. Don't mind to pay the money, but I want the damn thing to work after dishing out the bucks..............