IGNORED

280z fuel tank problem

rzkas

Hi and how are you? my 76 280z gas tank is bad. the pump cannot get fuel out of it to send up to the engine.

what should be my next step?

buy a new or used tank or clean up the tank?

if cleaning up the tank is the best and cheapest way to go, how do i go about cleaning the tank and the sending unit? after cleaning will i have to replace the sending unit with a new one?

pls give me ideas pls. i am a student and trying to restore this car. i work on it myself because i can't afford to have a mechanic to come work on it.

i am looking for the cheapest and reasonable way to fix my gas tank and have it working fine.

thanks

Are your fuel lines clogged? Do you know the extent of the condition of the tank? How about the fuel pump?

If your tank is in decent condition you can recoat it yourself with a product like POR-15's tank renew kit (~$70.00).

If you do recoat the tank replace all of your fuel hoses and check the condition of the fuel filler hose as well.

New sending units are very expensive but can be had. Check Arizona Z Car, Z man of Washington, classifieds. etc.

This topic has been discussed recently and there is a nice write-upon this site. I just did my 76 tank about a month ago with POR-15 and it turned out really well. It took about a week. Also coat the fuel tank straps as they are hard to come by.

Good luck.:beer:

Dave Ruiz

Are your fuel lines clogged? Do you know the extent of the condition of the tank? How about the fuel pump?

If your tank is in decent condition you can recoat it yourself with a product like POR-15's tank renew kit (~$70.00).

If you do recoat the tank replace all of your fuel hoses and check the condition of the fuel filler hose as well.

New sending units are very expensive but can be had. Check Arizona Z Car, Z man of Washington, classifieds. etc.