IGNORED

What to choose?

Chicken man

Hi, I'm pretty new to the car scene and have yet to buy my first car and then wait two years to drive it but I've narrowed the choices down. I'm either going to pick the Datsun 240z or the 280z but don't have my mind straight on either one yet. I plan on buying one in fair condition and rebuilding the engine with an older friend who owns a 300zx and swapping everything out for more current models to ensure driving quality. But what are the pro's and con's of each car. I've heard the the 280 is heavier while the 240 is lighter and smoother to drive. Just give me a big pros and cons list of each car while being realistic, thanks.

Choosing between a 240 or 280 really comes down to a few simple things. On the exterior you have a difference in bumpers and marker/turn/brake lights. On the interior there are some slight differences in materials and layout. The big difference is in the engine compartment and below the body - the drive train.

Neither is "better" then the other, but they are different enough that they have a different audience.

If you are going to be stuffing big horse power into the car, go with a 280. It's structure is a bit more stout and most importantly, you wont be screwing with a 240 :)

The quick answer is that it doesn't matter. Buy the S30 with the best body you can find and be happy with your purchase. Body condition means far more than model within the S30s. Look at SRBigButt's post about Jalopnik. He has a 280 with 240 bumpers. It has the features of a 280 with the look of a 240.