IGNORED

260z body same as 280z?

Mike Kelly

Hi, I was wondering if a 74 260z is the same body as a 74 280z? I also want to know if I can put a 73 240z engine into a 260z or maybe even a 74 280z. My options right now are dealing with my rusted out 73 240z with a good engine and I was thinking of buying a decent body that I can restore for either a 260z or a 74 280z (if thats possible). I'm a little bit new to the Datsun but I defenately want a 240z or 260z for their body type. I'm personally not a fan of the added length to the 280z.

Thanks!

Mike

I'm not an expert on this, but I think the 240, 260, and 280 all share the same basic S30 body. There are 2+2 variants for the 260 and 280 I believe, so maybe you are thinking of that? In the US there was no 74 280z, the only 74 was the 260z and the 280z began in 75. I think that is the same for Canada. -Mike

A late 74 260 with a build date of 9/74-11/74 would have the same body as a 280Z with the same bumpers used on the 75-76 280Z. Door panels, door lock mechanisms, hinges, etc., as well as dashboards, consoles and other assorted interior parts also changed at that point. In the North American market, which I assume includes Canada, there were no 280Zs until the 1975 model so the "1974 280Z" you speak of didn't exist. Not in the U.S., Canada or anywhere else in the world. You can put the 73 engine in any year Z or ZX for that matter but with the 75 and up models you'd be converting a fuel injected car to carbureators. Do some reading on this site and you'll discover the differences between the different model years.

Alright well here are my options... and you guys are awesome for replying so fast I really appreciate it!

-I own a 73 240z with a poor body probably beyond repair :(, but the engine is good (the one i own is in my display picture)

-I have been looking at some local sources and I have found a man who "claims" his 74 Datsun is a 280z. So maybe its a 75?