IGNORED

Just got a 280Z! New to cars.

vexxation

Hey all, first post.

I'm a new driver and I just recently acquired a 280Z. My Dad got it for me as my first car, and Im going to restore it and use it as my car (of course) and as my gateway into the awesome world of mechanics, something I've always been interested in. Always liked the Fairlady Z series, it looks like it'll be a nice ride.

I don't have the car yet, as my Dad is having it repainted for me and apparently new quarter panels are being put on as well. I have some questions that hopefully you guys can help me with.

As far as info goes, it's a JDM model with 60,000km on it, think it's a 78', two seater with manual transmission and a modified engine (I think it's called LT something, either that or whatever is stock). There's no rust apparently.

I want to know: How much fuel it consumes and what the emissions are like, how easy/hard it is to work on, how can I put a CD player in (it's older so i'm curious as to how it'd be done), is it expensive to insure, where can I get parts and are they expensive, etc. All in all, would it be a good car to have? Because if not I have the option of selling it.

I'm also desiring places for information on cars. I want to learn everything I can, from how one can tune an engine to how to properly restore cars to implementing nice stereo systems. I'm interested in becoming a mechanic. A person told me I should get a Chilton manual for my car and any others I like and just start reading them.

Also, very curious as to your opinions about this as my first car.

Thanks!

First of all, welcome to the forum. This is a great place for info on the 240-280Z cars, as well as some of the later models like the 280ZX.