IGNORED

Crane Cam XR7000

MAX

I'm a novice regarding ignition systems and am thinking of replacing the standard points ignition on my 73 240Z with an electronic ignition system.

What advantages does this provide?

And I have been considering using the Crane Cam XR 7000.

Aside from the fact that the Crane Cam unit allows you to replace the points with a non contact electronic method to control the coil what other functions does it provide? ie what else does it do? Does it change the spark characteristics for starting vs running, etc.

Lastly, In reading through some of the archives I've come across some a couple achronyms like "dizzy" and "MSD". What do these mean?

Many thanks

MAX

I'm a novice regarding ignition systems and am thinking of replacing the standard points ignition on my 73 240Z with an electronic ignition system.

What advantages does this provide?

And I have been considering using the Crane Cam XR 7000.

Aside from the fact that the Crane Cam unit allows you to replace the points with a non contact electronic method to control the coil what other functions does it provide? ie what else does it do? Does it change the spark characteristics for starting vs running, etc.

Lastly, In reading through some of the archives I've come across some a couple achronyms like "dizzy" and "MSD". What do these mean?

Many thanks

MAX

dizzy = distributor

msd == an aftermarket brand of ignition systems (Multiple Spark Discharge, i believe)

i put a pertronix ignitor system in my car to replace a Crane XR700 which was causing me no end of problems. it was cheaper and in my car it performs 100% better. No points to bounce at high RPM, engine pulls harder and revs higher than it did with either the points or the Crane system, AND it was less expensive & easier to install.