IGNORED

Hatch Alignment Guide

qz16

Hatch Alignment Guide

I have searched for a process/procedure, or guide to help me align a 240z hatch, but have not been able to find one.  It may be out there, but It has eluded me.  I am not a professional, just a do-it-yourselfer.  I am restoring a 1973 240z.  My hatch gave me a bit of trouble and this is the process that I used to achieve reasonable results.  This is meant only as a guide, something that hopefully is a bit better than obvious.  I think alignment is often considered daunting by some.  It really is not rocket science.  It takes effort, be patient, be careful, and be realistic.  If you could look at a new Z coming off the line in the 70s, I think you would notice that they were great cars, but they were not perfect – for example their gaps were not always uniform.  There is a phrase that I was taught on my first job after college – “The enemy of good is better”.

There is another thread “Hatch Alignment” that has photos of my hatch, and its gaps.

Please feel free to improve or correct any errors - thanks

Install and clearance Check

1. Remove the hatch striker to prevent the hatch from locking before it is aligned.
  2. Install the appropriate weather stripping.
  3. Tape the entire body opening of the hatch to protect it from scratches/chips while fitting the hatch.
  4. Install the hinges into the body.  This requires two bolts per hinge.
  5. Adjust hinges upward toward the roofline.  This will help if you have any issues clearing the roofline as you close the hatch for the first time. You might want to mark a line on the hatch body to define the position of the hinge.  This occurred to me after I aligned my hatch. A good way to keep track is to make the most current line the longest.
  6. Installing the hatch is a two man effort.  It requires two short screws per side. 
    The hatch tab holes are beveled so there is no adjustment up/down, left/right.