IGNORED

Debris in Carb

mikeont240Z

Hi - I'm relatively new to the z world with a 72 240Z. My problem is dirt in one carb - the one closest to firewall. I'm sure there was dirt from tank that got past / through the filter. I've read a number of threads and will probably need to start by cleaning the tank and working my way to the carbs.

A few questions: Can lines be cleaned (rather than replaced)? Is there a reason why only one carb is plugging up? Does fuel pump need to be cleaned? Any helpful hints?

Thanks, Mike

So Mike in Northern Ontario, welcome.

What does this dirt look like? Color, consistancy?

Our JUST SUs dvd would be a big help in taking you thru those carbs.

What does the fuel filter look like?

Probably the first thing I'd do is take the gas line off the float bowl and douche all the dirt out, put the gas line back on and drive the car to see how fast dirt might find it's way back into the float bowl. Throw a new filter on while you're at it.

Hi Bruce - dirt looks like black specs. First thing I did was clean carb. Drove the car as you suggested. Dirt build up happened quickly. Cleaned it again (third time) - this time left fuel line to carb detached and let some gas into container - more tiny black specs from line. New filter arrives today but concerned that it won't fix problem - seems like a fair amount of dirt. Also ordered a second filter and thinking of installing it at the tank.

If you put the black specs between your thumb and forefinger does it smear around like maybe degraded rubber might or is it hard and gritty? Old gas line being attacked by something in our new hotrod crappy gas would be well up on my list of suspects. Replace the rubber lines in the engine compartment, about a $4 deal and see what you have.