IGNORED

Help me...My brake, dash, reverselights dont work!!

juniorzep

Hey guys im new to the Z Team. I inherited a 76 280z from my fatherinlaw. It was sitting for probably 6 years. I got it to run and drives like a dream. I always wanted a Z and what better than a classic. I have only one problem that is driving me nuts....http://www.classiczcars.com/forums/images/smilies/msn-style/angry_smile.gif The dash lights don't work. The back up lights don't work. The turn signals don't work. The glove box light don't work. The headlights do work thou. The hazards also work. I checked the bulbs and they all are fine. Hope you guys can help me. Thanks

I'm still kinda new to all of it too...but have you checked fuses? I know I kept having weird stuff go in and out of working with my gauges and such and it turned out to be issues with the fuse box.

My car isn't stock though, so I'm not completely positive where the fuse box is supposed to be located. A PO was an electrical engineer, so things are weird on mine.

Yea they seem to be working fine.. I also read in the forums that one should check the turn signal relays under driver dash.. anyone know how to test these?? Thanks too all, as yall can see im not all good with electrical stuff haha

You really need a wiring diagram and multimeter. I would begin with each item individually if the fuses are ok. Disconnect each wire from the easiest access point and clean all the connections. While you are at it disconnect the battery and clean the post and battery cables. Make everything as shiney as you can. You may have to put on new connectors, be sure to get a good crimping tool to make a good contact if you do this step.