IGNORED

Addition of a Relay to a 240Z Starter System

yor5150

FWIW - I've been running a similar relay set-up on my '72 for at least 20 years to solve the same problem described in the article. However, I put the relay inside the car, on the inside of the firewall in the passenger footwell.

Wiring is pretty straightfoward - the original wire going to the solenoid is extended and run into the car to energize the relay then goes to ground. A larger gage wire from the positive battery terminal comes into the car, through the load side of the relay, then to the solenoid terminal.

It really shouldn't take much current to pull in the solenoid.

My son's Geo Metro had a similar problem. It would only engage the solenoid when the car was hooked to a battery charger or being jumped from a running car. (It seemed to prefer G.M. jump starts, perhaps because they run a little higher voltage.)

Anyway, I fixed the problem by spacing out the starter from the transmission housing with washers. The starter gear was being forced to far past the flywheel, and a couple of extra volts were enough to slam it home hard enough to make the contacts that actually fire the motor.

At first we replaced the starter (twice) but that had no effect. Apparently a PO must have left off a cover plate or something. (Thus the need for spacers)

I only bring it up in this thread because I suspect that the relay may be fixing a symptom, not a systemic problem. There could be some stack-up issue or just a worn or improperly installed solenoid causing the problem.

(or, to be fair... perhaps burnt contacts on the ignition switch.)

My son and I have had the same starter problem on two cars a 72 240 and a 73, after searching on this form and Hybrid z we have tried cleaning the ground, replacing the starter and ignition switch (which took a long time to source and the local Napa parts store to get in) only to determine that the original parts was just fine.