IGNORED

Fuel injector Prob. 77 280z

jagnew3

Hi everyone, I'm a noob from Indianapolis, In. I just picked up a decent 77 280 z 6cyl, 5 speed. It will start in either, and run ragged, but will not start at all w/o either...where should I start...

I did a big search of the site and have a few ideas, but wanted to post the specific symptoms, and say hello to you. I love this car and have wanted one ever since I delivered one from Atlana Ga to longview Tx back in 93. Thanks for your help.

You mean 'ether' as in starting fluid? In that case you're not getting fuel. There are many possible reasons. Fuel pump, fuel pump relay, ignition relay, fuel filter, and on and on. Do you have a factory service manual? There's a troubleshooting sequence in there for not getting fuel. Try this link. It's a pdf so you'll need and acrobat reader.

http://www.atlanticz.ca/zclub/techtips/efisystem/280zfuelinjectionbook.pdf

thanks, strange, but folks on my sea doo board, gave ne a diff. link, but the same book. those guys tinker with everything. I haven't tried much yet, I just got it, but wanted a direction to start.I do have a service manual, and It will be well read. thanks again, I will report back

haven't had a ton of time to check a bunch yet, i'm building a 657 sea doo engine, and then I can move on and spend some time going through the troubleshooting book. I'm just trying to get a feel for the most likely culprits. I'll hit those first then move on.