IGNORED

how to track minor fault??

gator

Ok ..so I am not very good with electrical problems .. I am good with mechanical stuff. But I need to fix these little issues myself. I am wondering if anyone would be kind enough to point me in the right direction. I just need some pointers to get started on these little faults. I am just not too sure where to start looking for the problems. I have look at all the obvoius ones like fuse panel, wire conections etc.

Problem 1 My washer pump does not work. It had always leaked anyway so didnt use it, but the pump did work. I have bought a seperate pump that should work fine .. the bottle doesnt leak , I have hooked up the two wires to the new pump (both ways to see if that helped). My first guess is that the switch on the steering column is shot ... how do I test to find the problem?

Problem 2 My rear defroster doesnt work. It is not the fuse. The light on the dash comes on when I flip the switch, but no defrost, How do I test this one .. I have checked the electrical connections at the window.

This is a 77 280 BTW ..Thanks .. Cheers Bruce Ü

1st get yourself a multimeter, or a test lamp (or even make a test lamp with some wire and a 12volt light globe). That way you can tell if you are getting voltage at the faulty item.

Note: Washer/wiper probably only works when the ignition is switched to on.

Problem 1. : Firslty I'd plug in the old washer bottle/pump and see if it still works. If it does, the switch isnt the problem, its the new washer bottle, or how you have connected it.

To test for power at the washer bottle, connect the test lamp to the wires where the washer pump is (disconnect the pump). Press the washer button in the on the dash. Light should light up.