IGNORED

Keep blowing out 20AMP fuse to tail-lignts on 72 240Z

landmizzle

Hi all,

The good news is I finally purchased a new (to me) '72 240Z and have her at home. The bad news is I can't drive her at night because the 20AMP fuse to the tail-lights (third fuse from the bottom on the right hand side in the fuse box.) burns out after about 3 secs once I turn the head-light combo switch to the #1 or #2 position.

I knew about this problem when I bought the car but figured it was just a bad switch. Nope. I've replaced it and that didn't help.

I'm not an electrical expert so I'm hoping someone on this forum can point me in the right direction.

Here's what I know. This fuse has a green-white (gw) wire running to it. It feeds the tail-lights, running lights, and dash lights. When I put a fresh fuse in, the dash lights come on briefly then the fuse burns out. The tail-lights and rear running lights (side markers) also come on but are very dim. The front parking lights and side-markers do not appear to come on.

I've looked at the wiring diagram and have observed that the dash-lights, rheostat, tail-lights,license plate lights and rear marker lights are feed by the gw wire. The front parking lights and side marker lights are feed by a green-blue (gl) wire.

On the head-light combo switch there is a plug that on the switch side has a gw wire. It ties into the plug and connects to a gl wire on the other side of the plug. If I jumper the fuse that keeps blowing, the gw wire on the combo-switch gets very hot and well begin to smoke within about 5 secs. The hot spot is just before the plug on the switch side.

I assume a high resistance is developing somewhere in the circuit and thus the smoking gw wire. I really don't know where to go from here though. Does the hot spot develope near the short point? Since the gw wire connects to the gb wire near this point, does that mean there's high resistance in the gb wire?