IGNORED

240z floor pan replacement question

Zaspen

I'm going to replace the floors in my 240 over the winter and I've read as many old posts on the topic as I can find.  After all that reading I can't figure out if it is better for me to attempt a butt weld or overlap a bit and weld a lap joint on the inside of the car.  I'm a novice welder and while I plan to practice a ton before I start I don't want to take on a butt joint if I have little chance of success.  I'm also wondering if I do a lap joint do I just weld on the inside of the car?  Do I then fill the seam under the car with a seam sealer?  How far should I overlap the new pan with the old metal?  I'm looking to get the ZF pans and rails.  Any thoughts/comments are appreciated,  Thanks!

If you are a novice welder I would go with a lap weld and weld on both inside and underneath then seam sealer on both sides. 1/2" is plenty of overlap and you can use a zip screw (self tapping) to hold it all together, complete all your welds then remove zip screws and plug weld the holes. By the time you get to the end of the welding part of the resto you won't feel like a novice anymore. Are you using a wire feed Mig with gas or flux core?

Grannyknot has good advise, but I would suggest butt welding them in.

If you have a good gas shielded welder (plenty of Duty Cycle), half the battle is getting it set up properly. You will have it figured out long before you get part way around a panel. If you practice a little first, I think you'll be ok. You can always post some pictures of your first spot welds and we can help you get dialed in.

9 minutes ago, Zaspen said:

I'll be using a gas shielded mig. If I butt weld and my welds have pinholes will seam sealer make everything Waterproof?