IGNORED

Is my coilover spring rate too high?

I installed Stance coilover suspension along with TTT control arms and tension rods on my car this winter. I have 4k springs front and 5k springs rear. My car is lowered about 1/2" compared to stock.

It handles well, but is very stiff. I hit bumps and occasionally bounce into the ceiling and the car sounds like it has just been smashed lol. I have the 15-way adjustable coilovers adjusted as soft as possible. 3 questions:

1. Is the only bumpstop in these cars in the coilover or strut itself? I didn't see any other.
  2. Is my spring rate too stiff? I don't track my car.
  3. Will the springs break in? I have about 300 miles on the current setup and they feel the same as new.

Sakura Garage recommended 4k/5k springs for "Street" applications. I'm wondering if that is typical around here or if that is a bit much for everyday driving.

1dGtgp4.jpg

Edited by AlbatrossCafe

First thing's first, I'm not a suspension expert, and my car doesn't drive, so I have no direct experience with Z suspension. But I've been around here a while, so here's my take.

Your springs rates translate to 280lb/in and 224 lb/in. John C on HybridZ has said that anything over 300lb/in is pointless since at that point, the chassis starts flexing, at least a 240Z. Most people who have put together coilovers seem to go with something like 225/250 or 200/225, or something to that effect, not 280, but apparently all the mainstream coilover manufacturers seem to think that this combo of 4k/5k is good, I couldn't tell you why.