IGNORED

Headlight Replacements

IdahoKidd

Hey guys, doing a straw poll I guess. I am looking to replace the headlights in my 240z and am considering the Hella's. Anyone have something they really like or are comfortable with. (DOT isn't a concern). I like the fact I can change out the bulb without taking out the entire lense assembly.

I see some inexpensive (cheap) projection lenses on ebay but am not convinced and moreso, they look really ugly. Looking to keep it reasonable (Hella's with bulbs are $60ish each)

I know that I need to get Dave's harness to keep from frying the switch and fuse panel.

I've been running E-code H4 lights in all my vehicles since 1976. I've had personal experience with many brands in the 7" round size, including Hella, Bosch, Cibié, Marchal, Lucas, Wipac, Carello, AutoPal, Stanley and Neolite. Bar none, the overall best have been Hella, with Cibié a close second. The Cibié have a touch better range on high beam, but the Hellas have the absolute best low beam - broad, and free from shadows.

The cheap (and ugly, IMO) MSR and faux-projector lamps you see on eBay are not in the same class as any of the real E-code lights listed above. Even the least expensive Neolites will control the light output better than the clear-lens cheapies.

All that said - ANY H4 lamp, even the eBay jobs, are superior to any sealed beam.

I will second Arne's opinion to a degree. I prefer the Cibie' over the Hella but I tend to spend more time on High beam then low. However, with price a consideration...go with the Hellas...Cibie's will run upward of $90 a piece with no H-4 bulb and not including shipping...FROM ENGLAND.

David Stern sells Cibié here in the states, but they are still spendy. As you've guessed, these days I weight low beam performance higher than high beam, thus the Hellas.

That said, I will admit to having Cibié in my 240Z right now, due simply to the more "period" look of the convex lens.