IGNORED

Car wont turn over

Erick

Hello i am new to all this and Z's. I have a 1978 280z coupe 5 speed. I bought it about 2 months ago. It was a barn find. Sp i just changed oil and battery and spark plugs. It turned over but it wasnt charging the battery in matter of fact it did the opposite. So i changed the alternator and also battery terminals. And new coolant as well. I also decided to drain the gasoline and add new one (one gallon to be exact). So once i did all of that i tried to start it up, and it started ( I WAS HAPPY ASF) but then it turned off as if it had died. But battery checkes out good it was at 12.5 to 13. So i tried to crank it again and it made a really bad grinding noise( when you have your car turned on and you try to start it again), so i stopped. I decided to put more gas (4more gallons)and still wont start. Every thing turns on just wont start. And it keeps draining my battery little by little if i keep trying to start it. I had to recharge my battery twice now. Im not sure if i need to replace my fuel pump maybe it got clogged up or starter?? Or change to a new battery idk what but please help

Welcome to the forum.  Sounds like a bad ground somewhere?  Directions on cleaning are here, http://atlanticz.ca/zclub/techtips/electricalconnections/index.html

A new fuel filter in the engine bay would my first $10.  Then a filter between the tank and fuel pump would be my next $5.  Here's a good write up on that...

http://atlanticz.ca/zclub/techtips/fuel/g3filter/index.htm

Here's the screen in the fuel pump that probably needs cleaning if it's been sitting in a barn.  Was the old gas nasty smelling, looking?

http://atlanticz.ca/zclub/techtips/fuelpump/index.html

Here's the home page where I'm getting this from.  He has covered just about everything with good descriptive writing and photos.

http://atlanticz.ca/zclub/techtips/

Good luck and we'll be here for 'ya. :D