IGNORED

Alternator and regulator puzzle - not a Z, it's a Ford

Zed Head

I have a charge light coming on my other car, but only at RPM above idle.  I checked the system with a meter, and at idle speed voltage is 14.3, but anything above that and it drops to no charge.  The reverse of the typical bad regulator or alternator problem.  Kind of weird to see.

Anybody have any guesses on what might be bad?  It's a Ford truck, with the replaceable regulator attached to the back of the generator.  There are quite a few videos pit there about replacing the regulator and/or brushes but I'm new to Ford land so don't know what works well.  Still leary of remans and Ford truck parts are expensive.

What do you mean by "no charge"? Is the voltage dropping to battery voltage? Are you measuring current?

Is this a really old truck with a generator, or are you using alternator and generator to mean the same thing?

What are the chances that you can find a wiring diagram to post here?

It's a 2003 Ford F150 with 4.2 liter V6.  Service documents are hard to find, I haven't found a wiring diagram yet.  Yes, voltage drops to battery voltage.  14.3 at idle...add RPM...12.3...dash light comes on.  I'd noticed some odd behavior from the radio noise that reminded me of when my old Nissan alternator crapped out.  A day later the battery light started lighting, then going off at stop lights and from standing starts.  

I'm leaning toward the higher current of higher RPM causing a regulator fault, or bad brushes losing contact with RPM increase.