IGNORED

Brakes stuck

papabear

Hello.... Was hoping for a little help.  My neighbor just passed away, and went over to his house I found an original 240z in his garage.   I talked to the people handling the estate and I bought the contents of the garage including the Z .  Its a 1971 mustard z.   Original paint ( has blemishes ), and a one owner car.  I didnt get it too cheap!

I can't get it out of the driveway for a few days.  I released the e brake and the brakes are still on..  Im not sure when the last time it moved.  Oil filter says 2009 and the last registration is from 2013.  Feels like the brake might be stuck, but i guess it could be any of the brakes.  Can someone tell me where to start to get the vehicle able to be pushed.  

I appreciate any help.. Im totally new to z cars, but have been in love with them since I was a kid and my brother had a 1970. 

Thanks again and looking forward to sharing the z with everybody.

Most likely the rear drums are stuck. Spray the heck out of them and bang with a rubber hammer.  May have to unhook the ebrake cable?

I'd soak them and bang them then try pulling with another vehicle. Be super careful where you tow from, don't use the rear bumper even it still has the strapping hooks. They were for shipping not towing.

• Like 1

If you're only moving it next door, a couple of cheap Harbor Freight dollies under the rear wheels might work.

The BR chapter of the FSM shows how the brakes work (see link below).  You can see the mechanism behind the rear wheel. if you crawl under the car  It's usually the rear brakes, not the front.

http://www.classiczcars.com/files/

Under your car the cable from the e-brake pull handle connects to a U shaped cable that runs to both sides of the rears. you can unhook it there easiest. Or each rear tire.