IGNORED

PCV Valves - not all the same?

Zed Head

I was going to post this in CO's "relocating the PCV valve" thread but it's fallen off the "Activity" page and I can't find it.

Have y'all noticed that there is a wide variety of part numbers for PCV valves but they mostly look identical?  Why is that?  Why doesn't one size fit all?  And will a PCV valve specified for a vertical application work the same if it's located horizontally?  Is there a test for PCV valve function that is ore sophisticated than blowing air through it and shaking it to make sure it rattles?  Why is there a spring only on one side of the internal valve?  When does the valve close (it is a "valve" after all)? 

Just wondering if relocating the PCV to the side of the valve cover is as easy as it seems.  I've pondered these things in the past.and realized some things but mostly ignore the valve entirely.

Edited by Zed Head
is for are and vlave

I'm no PCV expert, but I think I can answer some of the questions. It is my understanding that there are three "modes of operation" of the PCV valve and the little plunger (the part that rattles) inside will be in one of three general positions.

First mode is under high manifold vacuum conditions like at idle or light cruise. Under this condition, the plunger will fight against the spring and be pulled towards the intake manifold until it makes contact with a valve seat inside. However, it doesn't make a perfect seal. Either the plunger or the seat will have some cuts in it to allow a known and predictable small amount of air to flow through the valve. At idle and light cruise, there is (should be) a small amount of blow-by produced and that small amount of air through the valve should be enough to keep the crankcase ventilated while not screwing up your mixture ratios.