IGNORED

Paint cracking and stress fractures what should I do?

BrianPeters1313

Hey guys, 

I'm starting to work on my Z and I have a question about the current status of my rust/paint. I'm new to working on cars so i'm not yet very knowledgable on all of this stuff. I'm trying to assess if I have a rust problem that needs to be dealt with before it gets worse. The paint on my Z actually looks pretty good, but on some spots there is rust bubbles and what looks like stress cracks in the paint. 

I attached some photos that shows the problem areas. This includes the inside of the hood which appears to have burnt from the previous owner. It's showing signs of rust under the chipping paint. 

Should I strip her down to metal and deal with the rust asap, or could I drive it for another year or so and be okay? Could I simply deal with these spots individually? Thanks for your help in advance.

Brian

IMG_0477.JPG

IMG_1447.JPG

IMG_9393.JPG

Brian, It's always a good practice to address rust asap but then a lot of us are dealing with rust that started 40 yrs ago. The hood you could wire brush the loose stuff off and spray it with some rust oil stuff until you can get to it,  but those ridges above the quarter windows are something to be concerned about. That is where the roof was joined to the rest of the body, when I stripped the paint off my early 240Z I found a lead soldering in that seam, now if water has some how gotten under the lead then it is possible that it has oxidized and is bubbling up but it looks to me like there is some movement there, that the body and roof are flexing but not as one, that is not good. If there is movement in those seams then there will eventually be movement in other seams.