IGNORED

Hitachi radio coil replacement

gotham22

To be perfectly honest I screwed up and killed a fully functional radio.  Now I am trying to troubleshoot it to get it working again and admittedly I am in over my head .  Been trying to teach myself some things and searching the web hoping I can find the problem.  When I was using the multi-meter last night it appeared that this component was not working properly.  I realize now it is.  Based on the schematic it looks like there is a coil before the fuse. I need to check that as I am not getting any voltage at the fuse. 

Is this the radio you messaged me about adding a din cable and this is a later 280z radio right?

Which radio are you working on?

I've rarely seen these copper coils by the fuse burn out. Do a continunity test on it to see if its bad.

IMG_3282.JPG

Edited by hr369

• 2 weeks later...

Happy new year!!!  Thanks all for the help.  to post an update. I am a total newbie and made a lot of mistakes but I am starting to see the light at the end of the tunnel.  Here is how the mess happened,  I was trying to find the hot wire going into the radio because I wanted to add a switch so I could go between the radio and the aux.  Idiot that I am I didn't think and grounded the multi-meter to a painted surface. So it appeared no wire was hot, and then that's where it snowballed. I pulled the wires out of the plastic connector on the harness figuring I wasn't get a good connection for a reading. Before I did I marked them on a piece of paper. Now in hindsight marking top and bottom would have been useful and not using the letter b for blue and black would have been wise. Long story short whole radio opened up, resodering, breaking pieces and replacing them and finally figuring out the correct wire configuration.