IGNORED

260z won't start!

Clomolina24

Hello Everyone, 

PLEASE HELP!!!

I was hoping to get some help over a problem I am having, I just recently bought a 1974 Nissan Datsun 260 Z but unfortunately it was not in running condition, I was told it was only a fuel problem so I connected a hose to the mechanical fuel pump that ran to a gallon of gas so that it could get direct access to gas. Unfortunately that was not it as the engine would not turn on but would just sound like it wanted to then I changed the spark plugs as the ones it had were dirty and after I did this every time I turn the switch to start the car would just lose all electrical power, now the engine won't even try to start as everything just shuts off as soon as I turn the switch to start.

Just to let you know I am new at all of this so I don't know much about the car other than what I read so full description of what to do would be greatly appreciated!!

Thank You

Thank you very much!, Im happy to be joining such a helpful community!

I bought the car from Kansas, the guy told me it had been sitting for awhile now but when i searched through the car I found a quite recent insurance card which tells me it hasn't been sitting for over 3 years!

Now me and my father tried starting it up and it would only make a noise as if it wanted to start I later found out that the mechanical fuel pump had no line connected to it so I connected a little rubber tubing that went to a gallon of gas to allow the mechanical field pump to collect gas once I did that the engine seemed to have improved as if he wanted to start up, I went through it all and saw that the spark plugs where extremely dirty so I replaced them but right after I did the car would not even turn on!, all electricity would just die off as soon as I put the switch on start. I'm really hoping this is an electrical issue and I did not ruin the engine!!

The battery I put in it works on another car once I hook it up so I know its not the battery..