IGNORED

Might Have To Sell Track Day Car

WW2Winger

I've been developing this '71 Z for about 5 years.  It is a track day only car that has so many modifications, it will never be a stock car again.  A few weeks ago, I blew my Rebello motor and now I think it may be time to hang it up.  My question is whether or not to sell it as is or part it out, or what to do.  As you can imagine, this car has lots of dollars invested that I know I would never get out, but someone looking for a great track day car would be able to get it fully developed, at a steal.  Have not set a price yet, I'm still in mourning.

How bad did you blow the engine? Maybe you can use the parts for another engine and maybe regain some of the performance. That's why I'm against a race engine...It's too heart breaking if you ever blow it up. The engine I put together is slow but if I blow it I don't care. Sorry for the loss man.

• Like 1

I talked with WW2 last night and he threw a rod, so the block is gone. Of course you can use what's left over but it all depends on your budget and your desire.

At the SVRA Watkins Glen event in September and with VRG a few weeks later at the same track, I lost the back-up engine. I have blown 2 others, a BSR engine and a Jim Cook Racing supercharged L28 so I do know the pain and heart break.

I have also raced the same car a few days later with a spare nearly stock engine and had to get off the track after a few laps because my mind would wonder at the slower speeds and responsiveness.

71 - I would bet that after a ride in a 240 powered by a 300+ HP L series race engine you would never, ever want to go back. I know I can't.

Edited by gnosez

That's why ilk never install a 300 hp l28. I would love it too much. But I'm wondering what happened to throw rods through the block. What cylinder heads are u guys running?? I agree...The stock l28 is pretty slow. But the sounds it makes keep me addicted. That's the problem. I'm hoping to get 210 220 crank out of mine.