IGNORED

Best Octane For E31 Head

Nismo37

Hey Guys,

I just bought my first Z this month and drove it 500 miles home. Runs great. I'm new to the 240Z though and don't know a ton about the engines. Mine is a series 1 with the original E31 head. I know this one is a higher compression head.

What is the best octane to run on a stock motor to avoid detonation? Also, if the engine hasn't been re-built (I'm not sure if this one has) what do you do about the unleaded fuel?

Hi Matt,

Good question...The 1971 Series 1 owners manual (page 24) recommends '95 and higher'. From that it would appear the higher, the better, and that of course depends on local availability. So, adjust the timing (knocking??)accordingly.

Cheers,

George

Congrats on getting a Z with a performance head like the E-31. Run the highest available in your area as said. Are you aware of what detonation is and what it sounds like? If not, get familiar so you can avoid it and avoid replacing head gaskets. I probably run the same compression as you and run 93 octane and run full ignition with no detonation.

Welcome to CZCC

Congrats on getting a Z with a performance head like the E-31. Run the highest available in your area as said. Are you aware of what detonation is and what it sounds like? If not, get familiar so you can avoid it and avoid replacing head gaskets. I probably run the same compression as you and run 93 octane and run full ignition with no detonation.

Welcome to CZCC

I drove the car 600 miles home to Boise from California and I'm starting to get more familiar with how the car sounds. I had to fill up with 87 in the middle of nowhere because it was all that was available and I was running low. I think I might be getting a little detonation because the motor has that old school VW beetle sound under load. I'll fill up with highest I can find. If the highest isn't 95 what do you think about Octane boosters?

Also do you guys run a lead attitive?