IGNORED

Function of Weber Air Corrector Explained

The main jet, emulsion tube and Air corrector all must hold hands in order for the main circuit of the car to act as it should and when it should. Understanding the function of each part is critical to being able to tune the car. Blue has done so many great explanations of carbs, interiors, etc that I thought I would try to add to some of the core knowledge on the board. I am by no means an expert, but at times, I have been told I can explain things in a very easy to understand manner.

So lets talk about the air corrector on Webers (or Mikuni's I guess as well). The air corrector allows air to come into contact with the fuel coming form the main jet and then enter the primary circuit to feed the engine along with the idle circuit.

7698102320_2c33b89127_o.jpg

You can see the air as shown by the little white arrow coming in through the Air corrector, and then into the Emulsion Tube where it is mixed with the fuel that is pulled up (via engine vacuum) through the main jet. The air and the fuel are mixed together in the E-tube. That is a whole other science in itself, and I will not attempt to explain which E tube is best for you. There are books written on that alone!

So back to the Air corrector. It sees atmospheric pressure. So how can I relate the function of the Air correcter? Well how about this. Ever try to drink a beverage with a straw that is cracked?

Lets break it down even more.

You are the engine.

You suck on the straw providing vacuum to the straw

Normally, if the straw was solid (Air corrector of Zero) you would raise the beverage to your mouth (primary circuit) with ease - However this is a highly undesirable situation to dump raw fuel into the engine. The job of the carburetor is to mix fuel and air, not dump a stream of gasoline into the intake manifold.

So Same situation:

You are the engine

You suck on the straw providing vacuum to the straw